The Voice

The Voice

The Voice

Awards and honors

why journalism? | join the team | courses offered | awards & honors | scholarships | travel/convention opportunitiesmeet the advisers

Students who are part of the HHS Media Program have earned hundreds of individual honors at the local, state and national levels. In addition to earning individual awards for their work, students are eligible to be inducted into Quill and Scroll, the International Honor Society for High School Journalists. Some highlights of HHS’s group and individual awards include the following:


  • NSPA Pacemaker Winner, (the “Pulitzer Prize” of high school journalism, one of 15 in the nation), (‘12).
  • Four-time All-American publication, The Voice (‘07, ‘10, ’16, ’17).
  • Five First-Class Designations (‘06, ‘08, ‘09, ‘11, ’15), The Voice.


  • Crown Award Winner, Hybrid Newsmagazine/Website, 2016-17 (One of 15 programs in the nation to win this designation).


  • Eight top-5 team finishes at the state finals in the last 11 years, including two second-place finishes (‘11, ‘13) and two third-place finishes (‘07, ‘10).
  • Eight sectional championships (‘06-‘07, ‘10-‘13, ’15) and two second-place finishes (‘08-‘09).
  • Eight individual state champions: Mike Sitko, Editorial Cartooning (‘06); Brittany Manning, Advertising (‘07); Zack Wagner, Newspaper Design (‘09); Seth Boster, Sports Writing (‘11); Amanda Svoboda, Copy Editing (‘11); Holly Baldacci, News Writing (‘13); Maddy Moffett, Editorial Writing (’15), Courtney Thomas, Newspaper Design (’17).
  • Eleven second-place finishes at the state finals: Katelyn DeAlmeida, News Writing (‘07); Alex Albanese, Copy Editing (‘07); Matt Bakke, Yearbook Layout (‘08); Michelle Lisack, Yearbook Layout (‘10); Grace Borhart, Editorial Writing (‘11); Tyler Davis, Newspaper Design (‘12); Alexa Swanson, Advertising (‘12); Randi Peterson, Copy Editing (‘13); Alyssa Walter, Yearbook Layout (‘13); Camille Paddock, Feature Writing, (’16); Jess Espinoza, Bri Governale, Yearbook Theme (’16).

QUILL AND SCROLL SOCIETY: 62 national award winners since 2002, including Sweepstakes Award Winners Seth Boster (“Sammy’s Story” 2011) and Marek Makowski (“Everything You Heard About Kempf is Wrong” 2013) whose entries were named best in the nation.

ILLINOIS WOMEN’S PRESS ASSOCIATION: 80 state winners since 2002, including National Federation of Press Women 1st Place Winner Meagan Flynn (‘11) whose “Three Left” was named best feature in the nation.

ILLINOIS JOURNALISM EDUCATION ASSOCIATION: Marek Makowski named IL Journalist of the Year (2013); Maddy Moffett (2017), Devin Martin (2016), Jess Clavero (2015), Holly Baldacci (2014), Michael Geheren (2012-2013) and Meagan Flynn (2011) named to the Illinois All-State Journalism Team.

MIDWEST MEDIA EDUCATOR’S ASSOCIATION VIDFEST 2017: First Place- Division AA News Program, Raider Nation News.